a quick trip.

today i’m writing to you today from the airport in columbus.

a couple years ago my sister and her husband sadly moved away to ohio.  having only one sister and growing up in a tight knit family, it was tough to see her make the move and with the 7 hour drive from toronto to columbus, we don’t get to see her nearly as much as we’d like.

IMG_20130822_074802
^
^weren’t we just the cutest of sisters? haha

i’ve made the trip to columbus a couple times and always managed to have an amazing time, but since i only had a super short visit with her last weekend (which i blogged about here), my mom, my cousin and i booked a last minute flight to pay her a visit.

bekshooting^^crossed this off my bucket list during my visit to columbus last summer.

2013-12-29 18.04.48-1
^
^during my christmas visit, we took in some columbus/pittsburgh action at the rink.

we flew out of yyz bright and early yesterday morning on a teeny tiny prop plane (where i saw my life flash before my eyes, as we teetered into the sky)  and spent the day getting some quality power shopping in.  thanks to my favourite brother-in-law, we also took in the columbus vs. pittsburgh hockey game at night.

2014-04-23 23.17.44  2014-04-23 19.18.35
^
^taking in game 4 & an amazing w for a deserving team!! go cbj!

my sister and her husband live in a beautiful little community that is literally straight out of a fairytale.  the streets are lined with white picket fences and blooming trees.  there are walking paths throughout.  a large mailbox houses a community library.  all you need are rainbows and lollipops and you’d think you were living in a dream.  i’m lucky to have had an hour to enjoy the sunny skies on a walk around the neighbourhood.

2014-04-23 14.50.04
^^a communal library for the neighbourhood.   shouldn’t every community have this??

2014-04-23 14.54.43
^
^could this place be any cuter?

after laying my head down to sleep for a couple hours last night, it was time to head back to toronto and back to reality.

although it was much too short of a trip, i’m so happy to have spent some time at my sister’s…and getting some much needed shopping in didn’t hurt either!

columbus, you’re always good to me –’til next time!

don’t forget to follow me on twitter & instagram@thefitpalette.

“family:  where life begins and love never ends.” -unknown

 

Leave a Reply

